3 Stars for When Will I Be Loved by Julie Lynn Hayes (AUTHOR INTERVIEW) #MM #Paranormal @ShelleyRunyon

WhenWillIBeLoved

Title: When Will I Be Loved
Author Name: Julie Lynn Hayes
Publication Date: June 7, 2015

Synopsis

Miller Fenwick wants the kind of happy ending his best friend got, with the hunky werewolf of his dreams. Trouble is, there doesn’t seem to be a Prince Charming on the horizon, and casual encounters don’t cut it anymore. Now that Alexx and Raoul are engaged, Miller is becoming resigned to being the bridesmaid, never the bride. But a chance encounter with a sexy stranger at Charisma has his hopes soaring, and his heart is wide open to possibilities.

Holt Wynne is the head of Helios, the largest vampire organization in the country. He’s a very influential and wealthy man, with a deep-seated hatred of werewolves. His running into Miller at Charisma isn’t entirely accidental. He’d meant to wait, but his emotions got the better of him, and he couldn’t stay away. And now see what he’s done…

Wait until Miller finds out he’s sortof just gotten married to the sexy vampire who hates the people who are Miller’s best friends. Sparks are gonna fly—and not just in the bedroom. One thing for sure—life in Crescent Bay is never dull!

Review

ThreeStar

By the second chapter, readers are plunged into a graphic, overly emotional sex scene between two characters who haven’t even been introduced to each other. I cringed and giggled through the classic Harlequin-style night of passion (Hayes goes heavy on the euphemisms and fully utilizes a rather saucy thesaurus).

The book did improve, but the writing remained a good example of bad Gothic melodrama. Fans of Fifty Shades of Grey or Twilight will probably enjoy the exaggerated, emotive prose more than I did.

The plot is pretty familiar: a beautiful rich vampire is inexplicably attracted to a distinctly average human. Add in conflict between werewolf and vampire groups, complicate things with a human hate group and we have all the components of an unremarkable paranormal romance.

I really didn’t warm to this story, but I know other readers will. If you love perfect romances, demonstrative wealthy lovers and emotion-soaked dialogue, you’ll probably love this. For me, this was way too sweet and full of far too many cliches.

Sarah

Excerpt

Miller forced himself to take a breath, unaware until he did that he’d stopped breathing.

Quit being ridiculous. Wine going to your head already?

But he’d only had the one glass. And he hadn’t even finished that. He wasn’t such a lightweight, when it came to

holding his alcohol, and he knew it.

He told himself it was just his imagination. But just to be safe, he began a slow cautious turn, looking around him, without appearing to be searching for anything—or anyone.

And there he was.

Standing a heartbeat away from Miller was one of the sexiest men he’d ever seen in his life. A man every bit as sexy as Raoul Marchand, although not in the same feral way as the werewolf.

This man was light where Raoul was dark. His hair was a honey blonde which stood out by virtue of being obviously natural, in a place where most blondes were either created by the sun or came from a bottle. He stood a little taller than Miller, exuding a presence that went beyond the merely physical, possessed of the bearing and mien of a veritable god.

But it was his eyes that drew Miller in and held him spellbound. Blue and green, like staring into tropical waves, flecked with bits of pure molten gold. And the way he was staring at Miller was sending the most delicious shivers traveling up and down his spine.

The man took a step toward Miller, his hand outstretched. Before Miller quite realized what had happened, he’d placed his own hand inside of the other man’s, and he found himself being drawn onto the dance floor.

BuyTheBook

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon CA
Barnes & Noble
Kobo
Publisher’s Website

AuthorInterview

1) Can you describe in detail what your writing environment is like?

Oh gosh, how embarrassing. Okay, I can do this lol I have a desk that sits in my living room, facing the windows. Lots of windows, because it’s the corner, and the windows are poorly insulated, so it gets rather cold during the winter!

They say that a creative mind is a messy one, so I must be pretty creative ‘cause I’m extremely messy lol There are tons of papers scattered on my desk, many of them notes I jotted on post-its, or research info I printed out. I have a stack of CDs I didn’t put away yet, and a number of figures: Ned Stark, Drogon, Cardinal Richelieu, Psyduck, Lemongrab and a white wolf. I have a cross-stitch picture of Benedict Cumberbatch my friend Chris T Kat made and gave me, and some stuffed figures: two of Light Yagami (Deathnote), Sebastian Michaelis (Black Butler), and a white bear that was a gift from my future daughter-in-law Ana. Also I have a bunch of cross stitch floss, in a whole lot of colors, because I love to cross stitch. That should give you an idea of my environment lol

2) Is there one of your characters that you relate to (from any of your works)? Why?

That would be Max Montague, from To the Max, and For Love of Max. I think of him as the gay male version of me lol We’re about the same age, and we think pretty much alike and have many of the same fears. I find it easy to write as Max, because he lives in my head. Well, so do most of my characters. Like me, he’s afraid of heights and old bridges, and it takes a lot to make him mad, and he usually does what people expect of him.

3) If you couldn’t be an author, what would you do instead?

Although I think I’d be good in marketing, I would truly love to do detective work, maybe even forensics. I love solving mysteries and figuring things out, and digging into what happened. I’d be the kind of detective that would open cold cases and try to solve them.

4) Is there anything that you learned during the writing process that you wish you had known before hand?

I can’t think of anything. After all, it’ s written in stone until it’s done, and so everything is subject to change. I like discovering things as I write. If I’m surprised about something, the reader will probably be surprised too, since it’s hard to signal what you don’t know lol

5) Is there anything that you wish you could change about your book now that it is out?

Nothing I’m willing to admit to lol

6) How do you come up with new ideas for your story?

Inspiration comes in many ways. Sometimes it’s something overheard that blossoms into an idea. Sometimes it’s an image, or a song. When Will I Be Loved came from a reader who wanted to know what Miller’s story was, and my Muse took the suggestion and ran with it. Next thing I knew, I had created Holt Wynne and Helios.

7) What’s next for you as a writer?

I always have a lot going on! Right now I’m working on my first collaboration with Chris T Kat, a fantasy series involving elves and centaurs and wizards. Also, I’m working on the third book in the Moonlit Skies series, Be My Everything. And my first PI novel, Personal Business. As well as an ongoing flash fiction on my blog, Don’t Look Back, which could be categorized as taboo fiction.

8) Where do you live? Do you think this influences how or what you write?

I live with my daughter Sarah and cat Ramesses in St. Louis, Missouri. I suppose this influences my writing, as I set a lot of stories in this area. I’m not sure if it influences how I write, but it’s hard to say, since I don’t know anything else.

9) What is your favorite genre outside of the one you write in? Why?

I’m not sure I have one, as I tend to read all over the place. Right now, I’m reading more detective books than others. I’m reading all the Hercule Poirot books, in order, and I just started the Dresden Files, which feature a PI who is also a wizard. And the Felix Castor series, about an exorcist. I also enjoy graphic novels, such as The Unwritten, which defies classification, and the Hellblazer series (which feature John Constantine, who is also an exorcist). I love true crime, and history (I intend to read Wolf Hall). I love humor, such as can be found in PG Wodehouse, thrillers such as Preston & Child write, horror from Stephen King. SciFi, such as Herbert, Clark, and Asimov. So I guess I really am all over the map lol

10) Do you have any vices? Shoes, coffee, shopping…etc?

I’m a definite coffee-holic! I do my shopping online, at Amazon. And when I have the time (and a better computer), I love to play Rift and Diablo 2 (I’d play WoW if I could afford it) lol

AuthorBio

Julie Lynn Hayes first began publishing short stories and poetry in the 1990’s, when it was a different ballgame altogether, and Ebooks hadn’t been dreamed of yet. That changed in 2010 with the acceptance of her first romance novel. She’s come a long way since that first book appeared, and is finding the journey a very educational one.

She lives in St. Louis with her daughter Sarah and her cat Ramesses. She often writes of two men finding true love and happiness in one another’s arms, and is a great believer in the happily ever after. She likes to write in different genres, to stretch herself in order to see what is possible. Her great challenge is to be told something can’t be done—she feels compelled to do it.

When she isn’t writing, she enjoys crafts, such as crocheting and cross stitch, needlepoint and knitting, and she loves to cook, spending time watching the Food Network. Her favorite chef is Geoffrey Zakarian. Her family thinks she’s a bit off, but she doesn’t mind. Marching to the beat of one’s own drummer is a good thing, after all. Her published works can be found at Dreamspinner Press, eXtasy Books, Wayward Ink Press, and Amber Quill Press.

SocialLinks

Facebook
Twitter
Author’s Website
Author’s GoodReads Page

Leave a Comment

Filed under 3 Star, M/M, New Release, Review, Sarah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.