5 stars for Fjord Blue by Nina Rossing @ninarossing #MM #YA #Romance @Dreamspinners

24955343

Title: Fjord Blue
Author Name & Publisher: Nina Rossing (Harmony Ink Press)
Publication Date & Length: March 10, 2016 — 256 Pages

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Benjamin is shipped off to work on his grandparents’ remote farm in the fjords of Western Norway for the summer. It’s not like he didn’t deserve it. After all, he crashed his dad’s vintage Bonneville in a car-chase duel on a Miami freeway. Ben is mad at the world and not ready to reveal the reason for his bad behavior the past year, when he partied and got into fights to forget his attraction to his best friend’s hot cousin Dino.

Norway is cold and rainy, the farm is desolate and resists modernization, and the grandparents are quiet and religious. On to the scene waltzes Even, the eighteen-year-old farmhand, who counters Ben’s restlessness and complaints with friendship, fresh perspectives, and problems of his own.

With the mounting expectations of Ben taking over the farm one day, getting closer to Even becomes Ben’s only reason to stay put. As the friendship deepens, the two boys learn that secrets can turn into both beautiful and ugly truths, and that support can be found in unexpected places.

Add to GoodReads

Review

FiveStars

What a fantastic book!  I am so jealous of the young adult books that today’s teens have access to.  Gone are the preachy, condescending books of my own youth and in their place are stories by writers like Nina Rossing.  Here, her protagonist isn’t terribly likeable, the adults in his life are flawed but human and this is more a story of the challenges of growing up than morality tale of any sort.  

While it took me a good while to love Ben, I loved the story of the Cuban American/Norwegian boy from Miami who is sent to live with his traditional Norwegian grandparents after crashing his father’s classic car.  Ben’s parents and grandparents are refreshingly well developed and surprisingly unpredictable.  Even, his co-worker is a complex and confusing love interest for Ben, struggling with his own issues and just as insecure as Ben in many ways.  

Fans of John Green and David Levithan will enjoy these complex characters but this is a quieter, more thoughtful book. Neither Even or Ben is inclined towards precocious literary references or clever musings about the meaning of life.  For me, the subtlety of the relationships and the stilted conversations here are more real and Ben’s flickering self confidence resonates more deeply.  

The Norwegian setting is wonderful.  Isolated and austere, the contrast with Miami is sharp and the quiet environs and hard physical labour force Ben to grow up and confront some harsh truths.

And the romance.  Somehow, Nina Rossing has perfectly captured the magic of a first crush, a summer romance and all the heightened sensations that come with first experiences.  While the sexual content isn’t graphic, it is moving and the relationship between the two young men is just beautiful.

~Sarah

BuyTheBook

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon CA
Barnes & Noble
Kobo
Publisher’s Website

AuthorBio

Nina Rossing lives in Norway, where the winters are long and the summers short. Despite the brilliant nature surrounding her, she spends more time in front of her computer, or with a book in her hands, than in the great outdoors (though you may find her out on her mountain bike if the weather is good). She works as a high school teacher, which in her opinion is probably the best job in the world.

Nina is an avid and eclectic reader whose bookshelves are bursting (and so is her e-reader). After thinking about writing for many years, she now finds time to live out her dream after her kids are in bed. She prefers creating young adult stories where obstacles are overcome and endings are hopeful.

SocialLinks

Twitter
Author’s Website
Author’s GoodReads Page

Leave a Comment

Filed under 5 Star, M/M, New Release, Review, Sarah, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.